INTERCESSION

Yet now, if thou wilt forgive their sin-and if not, blot me, I pray thee, out of thy book which thou hast written.  Exodus 32:32

This prayer is so profound it touched me. It reminded me of all my selfish prayers. Me me me. “Father give me this, Father deal with this, Father you know I am broke,” and I never once thought to pray so hard for someone that I dared to tell God to leave me out of His book of life if He chooses not to forgive the other person.

Haha! I know. These are hard prayers. Much like “Your will be done.” We often get to that part and silently add, “I pray that Your will for me is not poverty, after all You said Your plans for me are of good and not evil,” or maybe that’s just me. I know the rest of you are good Christians.

So, how many of us, having received the free gift of salvation, have our hearts burning for those who know Him not? How often do you pray for one another? How often do you pray for others?

Do you know God  Himself says the prayer of a righteous man availeth much? In other words, He can come down and show you He is there for you. Why then do you take for granted this wonderful power that you have and pray mumbling, half-hearted, half-believing prayers like, “God, please bless my friend. I know he doesn’t know You, help him.” Nobody says, “God, I am standing in the gap for So and So, and if you do not hear me, then you can take me as well for he/she is also your child.”

This is the beauty of God, knowing that He is merciful and that He won’t punish the just for the unjust. So why not?

Love your neighbour as yourself. By our love for others, Christ in us is glorified.

Disclaimer: please don’t go ahead and test the Father with an unrighteous heart and unclean thoughts and say I encouraged you to do it and God didn’t hear you.

 

That’s all for today!

2 thoughts on “INTERCESSION

Leave a comment